From Naval Air Force Atlantic Public Affairs

Commander, Naval Air Force Atlantic (CNAL) announced the selection of Naval Air Crewman Operator 1st Class (NAC/AW/SW) Marc Deskin and Aviation Ordnanceman 1st Class (AW/SW) Christopher Carter as Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year, respectively, at a luncheon ceremony Feb. 9.

Deskin is currently attached to Patrol Squadron (VP) 16 at Naval Air Station Jacksonville, Fla., where he serves as the Tactics Department leading petty officer. 

Carter, a Hyattsville, MD. Carter is currently attached to Helicopter Maritime Strike Squadron (HSM) 40 at Naval Station Mayport, Fla., where he serves as the Maintenance Department leading petty officer.

Rear Adm. Bruce Lindsey, commander, Naval Air Force Atlantic, highly praised both Sailors for their outstanding accomplishments.

"We had an exceptionally talented group of Sailors this year, and I couldn't be more proud of all of them," said Lindsey. "These two specifically have represented themselves and their command at the highest level and I am confident that they will continue to do great things."

The two Sailors were selected from 12 candidates representing more than 30,000 men and women serving in the sea and shore components within Naval Air Force Atlantic. Each represented their respective commands after being selected as that command's Sailor of the Year.